Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Subjects and Programs

At Gowrie State School, all students deserve a great teacher, not by chance but by design. We value interactive teaching to engage students in the learning process. We value data analysis to ensure targeted teaching occurs for all our students. This ensures our students have access to a quality challenging curriculum.
Staff, students, parents and the community work in partnership to enhance outcomes for every child.  The school’s pedagogical framework was reviewed last year (2018)to best reflect current practices. This framework will have students at its core and have a strong emphasis on high yield teaching strategies, higher order questioning and the gradual release model .​
The Australian Curriculum is implemented at Gowrie State School  through the Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) resource, which delivers a comprehensive set of whole-school and classroom planning materials for single level and multi-level classes, students with disability and for students who study through the schools of distance education.
Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) is the strategy employed by Education Queensland to support its schools with the implementation of the Australian Curriculum and to assist them meet its goal for state schooling - one vision, one curriculum, one platform, different ways.
Designed as a starting point for school curriculum planning, C2C is essentially a digital resource that can be adopted or adapted to meet individual student learning needs and to suit local school contexts. C2C materials are regularly reviewed and refined to align with changes to the Australian Curriculum and in response to feedback from schools and stakeholders.  The Australian Curriculum sets out the knowledge, understanding and skills needed for life and work in the 21st century.
The following are excerpts from Information Bulletins for parents, sharing information about the Australian Curriculum.
My child and the Australian Curriculum-
The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life – wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.
What are the learning areas of the Australian Curriculum?
From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in  eight learning areas:
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  •  Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  •  Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  •  The Arts
  •  Technologies
  •  Languages 
Foundation to Year 10
In the early years, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development as the foundations for further learning. As students make their way through the primary years, they focus more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.
There are three dimensions in the Australian Curriculum:
    • learning areas
   • general capabilities 
   • cross-curriculum priorities.
Learning areas
The Australian Curriculum is organised into learning areas and subjectsSome learning areas bring a number of subjects together: Humanities and Social Sciences includes History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, and Economics and Business; The Arts includes Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts; Technologies includes Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies. There is also a choice of 15 Languages. The Language Curriculum at Gowrie State School is Japanese.  Learning areas contain content descriptions that detail knowledge, understanding and skills to be taught eachyear or across a band of years. These content descriptions are accompanied by achievement standards that describe what students will know and will be able to do as a result of teaching and learning in the classroom.
General capabilities
General capabilities are included in the content of the learning areas. These are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21st century. The Australian Curriculum has seven general capabilities:
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and Communication
  • Technology (ICT) Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding
Cross-curriculum priorities
In a similar way, there are three priorities critical to Australia’s future:
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Histories and Culture
  • Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability 
They build across the curriculum and allow students to connect the content of learning areas.
Where can I find more information?
Find more information about the Australian Curriculum on the ‘Parents’ page of the Australian Curriculum website, where you can: download fact sheets and brochures, which give more detailed information about the Australian Curriculum in the first year of school (Foundation), Years 1–2, Years 3–4, Years 5–6, Years 7–8, Years 9–10.
On behalf of the teaching team at Gowrie, we encourage our school families to ask the questions, talk with your child’s teacher and be part of their learning.